Log In

William S. Burroughs, Break Through in Grey Room

@ Music Database Search

William S. Burroughs, Break Through in Grey Room CD cover artwork

William S. Burroughs, Break Through in Grey Room

Audio CD

Disk ID: 818032

Disk length: 44m 53s (15 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1986

Label: Unknown

View all albums by William S. Burroughs...

“Break Through in Grey Room” Tracks & Durations

1. K-9 Was in Combat with the Alien Mind-Screens13:32
2. Origin and Theory of the Tape Cut-Ups 3:29
3. Recalling All Active Agents 1:25
4. Silver Smoke of Dreams 4:55
5. Junky Relations 1:59
6. Joujouka 1:35
7. Curse Go Back 1:08
8. Present Time Exercises 2:21
9. Joujouka 0:35
10. Working with the Popular Forces 2:46
11. Interview with Mr. Martin 3:02
12. Joujouka 1:29
13. Sound Piece 2:09
14. Joujouka 2:45
15. Burroughs Called the Law 1:32

Note: The information about “Break Through in Grey Room” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Officially re-released -- one of our absolute classics, back in print at last. Extraordinary cut-up voices recorded during the mid-60's in hotel rooms in New York, Paris, London...It's impossible not to recognise the writer's voice -- the sonority of this voice -- a sonority also present in the silence of every text he wrote. An explosion of styles -- a blasting of borders -- the silence after a gunshot -- the overtaking of the fetishized word -- from the exploded painting to the cut tape. This record starts with a piece of more than 13 minutes, recorded around 1965 with Ian Sommerville somewhere in New York and London -- K-9 was in combat with the alien mind-screens, including various monologues, radio short waves and music...Tapes, cut and cut and cut up to the limit of sense -- emerged new structures of communication... and senses. Words gain power when loosing the boundaries of semantics. Including too Joujouka music recorded by WS Borroughs in the hills of Morocco with Ornette Coleman, circa 1973."