Log In

Tim Janis, An American Composer in Concert

@ Music Database Search

Tim Janis, An American Composer in Concert CD cover artwork

Tim Janis, An American Composer in Concert

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1727713

Disk length: 1h 10m 38s (19 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2001

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Tim Janis...

“An American Composer in Concert” Tracks & Durations

1. Cape Elizabeth 2:34
2. The Fallen Leaves of Autumn 3:12
3. Ocean Mist 2:59
4. Half Moon Bay 3:03
5. The Edge of September 3:35
6. Pacific Wind 3:16
7. Menemsha Harbor 2:43
8. Light on the Moon 4:09
9. Sea Rose 2:20
10. Music of Hope 4:01
11. Twin Lights 3:41
12. White Mountains 3:58
13. Blue Hill Bay 4:59
14. Seascape 4:04
15. Cry of the Blue Whale 4:56
16. Water's Edge 3:14
17. Ocean Heights 3:22
18. Flowers in October 6:24
19. Amazing Grace 3:53

Note: The information about “An American Composer in Concert” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Composer Tim Janis has long straddled the line between contemporary instrumental and classical music. With An American Composer in Concert, he further blurs that line. The first nine tracks of this disc were recorded by the Tim Janis Ensemble in the composer's studio. They're short, majestic, and relaxing instrumentals named after nature themes ("Cape Elizabeth," "The Fallen Leaves of Autumn," "Pacific Wind"). Things pick up slightly during the 10 live tracks that make up the second half of this disc. Recorded at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center with the American Symphony Orchestra, these tracks feature luxuriant strings, the occasional pennywhistle solo, and one vocal track (a take on "Amazing Grace" with sweeping orchestrations). As with most Janis efforts, there's nothing groundbreaking here, just soothing music and pleasant melodies. --Jason Verlinde