Log In

Tim Buckley, Sefronia

@ Music Database Search

Tim Buckley, Sefronia CD cover artwork

Tim Buckley, Sefronia

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1474981

Disk length: 38m 28s (11 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1973

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Tim Buckley...

“Sefronia” Tracks & Durations

1. Dolphins 3:12
2. Honey Man 4:12
3. Because Of You 4:28
4. Peanut Man 2:53
5. Martha 3:18
6. Quicksand 3:25
7. I Know I'd Recognise Your Face 4:01
8. Stone In Love 3:30
9. Sefronia - After Asklopiades, After Kafka 3:11
10. Sefronia - The King's Chain 2:30
11. Sally Go 'Round The Roses 3:41

Note: The information about “Sefronia” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


After the lackluster response to his groundbreaking early '70s albums, Lorca, Blue Afternoon, and Starsailor, Tim Buckley went back to the drawing board. His first attempt at a comeback was the funky, accessible, Greetings from L.A., and his second was Sefronia. This 11-track album did nothing to rescue his critical reputation. It's clear from the outset that Buckley is not in peak form. Apparently suffering from a cold, his voice isn't at his best and this collection of ballads is made even more frustrating by the occasional flashes of inspiration. The tracks, which include an interesting choice of covers (Fred Neil's "Dolphins" and Tom Waits's "Martha"), are too deeply submerged in pop producer Denny Randell's slick production. When Buckley's ramshackle muse does hang together (the evocative "Quicksand" and the sweet "I Know I'd Recognize Your Face") we're almost in Happy Sad territory, but, bar the covers, these songs aren't worthy of that brilliant voice. --Reuben Dessay

1. Dolphins
2. Honey Man
3. Because Of You
4. Peanut Man
5. Martha
6. Quicksand
7. I Know I"d Recognize Your Face
8. Stone In Love
9. Sefronia giAfter Asklepiades, After Kafka
10. Sefronia giKing"s Chain, The
11. Sally Go Round The Roses

Format: CD

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Tim Buckley - Sefronia

Tracks: 11, Disk length: 38m 28s