Log In

Swell Maps, A Trip to Marineville

@ Music Database Search

Swell Maps, A Trip to Marineville CD cover artwork

Swell Maps, A Trip to Marineville

Audio CD

Disk ID: 456010

Disk length: 1h 2m 21s (19 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1979

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Swell Maps...

“A Trip to Marineville” Tracks & Durations

1. H.S. Art 2:20
2. Another Song 1:42
3. Vertical Slum 1:11
4. Spitfire Parade 3:09
5. Harmony in Your Bathroom 5:25
6. Don't Throw Ashtrays at M 1:14
7. Midget Submarine 4:34
8. Bridge Head (Pt. 9) 2:00
9. Full Moon in My Pocket 1:29
10. Blam 3:30
11. Full Moon (Reprise) 1:20
12. Gunboats 8:08
13. Adventuring Into Basketry 7:43
14. My Lil' Shoppes 'Round the Corner 0:43
15. Loin of the Surf 2:20
16. Doctor at Cake 2:06
17. Steven Does 1:45
18. Bronze and Baby Shoes 6:16
19. Data Track 5:13

Note: The information about “A Trip to Marineville” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Noisy and experimental, Britain's Swell Maps experienced little commercial success during the course of their chaotic career, but in hindsight they stand as one of the pivotal acts of the new wave: not only was the group an acknowledged inspiration to the likes of Sonic Youth and Pavement, but their alumni - most notably brothers Nikki Sudden and Epic Soundtracks - continued on as key players in the underground music community.

Although Sudden (vocals/guitar) and Soundtracks (piano/drums) formed the first incarnation of the Swell Maps as far back as 1972, the group did not begin to truly take shape until 1976, when the siblings enlisted bassist Jowe Head and guitarist Richard Earl. In the spirit of punk's "do-it-yourself" mentality, they formed their own label, Rather Records, and issued their debut single - the brief, jarring Read About Seymour - in the early weeks of 1978. Local media support soon won the group a distribution pact with - but they did not resurface until over a year later with the single Dresden Style.

In mid-1979, the Swell Maps released their full-length debut A Trip To Marineville, a crazy quilt of punk energy and Krautrock-influenced clatter. After the release of the speaker-shredding single "Let's Build A Car," the group recorded one final studio LP, Jane From Occupied Europe, before breaking up. Each of the members followed their own career paths, playing solo and forming bands: Sudden formed the Jacobites, Soundtracks joined Crime & The City Solution and Head played with the Television Personalities.

Each disc contains bonus tracks not available on previous versions of these albums.

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Swell Maps - A Trip to Marineville

Tracks: 22 (+3 tracks), Disk length: 59m 35s (-3m 14s)

Swell Maps - A Trip to Marineville

Tracks: 22 (+3 tracks), Disk length: 59m 27s (-3m 6s)