Log In

Stan Ridgway, Holiday in Dirt

@ Music Database Search

Stan Ridgway, Holiday in Dirt CD cover artwork

Stan Ridgway, Holiday in Dirt

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1243874

Disk length: 1h 1m 31s (14 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2002

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Stan Ridgway...

“Holiday in Dirt” Tracks & Durations

1. Beloved Movie Star 4:48
2. Operator Help Me 4:18
3. Time Inside 3:56
4. End of the Line 5:51
5. Garage Band '69 3:21
6. Bing Can't Walk 5:07
7. Brand New Special and Unique 2:51
8. After the Storm 2:53
9. Floundering 3:11
10. Amnesia 2:53
11. Whatever Happened to You 3:33
12. Act of Faith 4:17
13. Beloved Movie Star Redux10:54
14. Behind Closed Doors 3:29

Note: The information about “Holiday in Dirt” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Roaming a psychedelic no-man's land where Tom Waits and Jack Kerouac might converge, Stan Ridgway is an inimitable singer and precision essayist whose song characters wear life's grit under their fingernails. It's doubtful Ridgway ever broke the legs of a no-goodnik named Bing, but gosh darn if you're not thoroughly convinced of it by the end of "Bing Can't Walk," one of a handful of creaky, ramshackle gems gathered together on the odds-and-sods Holiday in Dirt. He may scribble outside the lines musically, but Ridgway's harp-goosed, art-rock vignettes are enormously detailed--witness the bloopy, futuristic "After the Storm," the eerily straight-faced midtempo rocker "Whatever Happened to You?" or the unlisted cover of Charlie Rich's "Behind Closed Doors," cheekily delivered in a character that might have been crafted by Bill Murray circa Caddyshack. Admittedly an acquired taste, Ridgway repays diligence with cartwheeling, consistently unexpected, possibly true parables sucked straight out of the twilight zone that is contemporary America. If Jackson Pollack paintings had sound, they'd probably sound a lot like this. --Kim HughesFeatures 13 rare & unreleased tracks. New West Records.