Log In

Sister Carol, Isis: The Original Womb-Man

@ Music Database Search

Sister Carol, Isis: The Original Womb-Man CD cover artwork

Sister Carol, Isis: The Original Womb-Man

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1801275

Disk length: 1h 4m 28s (16 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1999

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Sister Carol...

“Isis: The Original Womb-Man” Tracks & Durations

1. Opportunity 3:55
2. Reggae Arena 3:53
3. Gentle Lover 4:19
4. Cut & Clear 4:06
5. Promises 4:00
6. Ezekiel 37 3:53
7. Womb-Man 4:15
8. Rasta Girl 4:29
9. I-sis Appela 3:52
10. Fire Pon The West 4:04
11. 70 Sup'm Pieces of Bob 4:20
12. Kings & Queens 4:16
13. Hiv 3:01
14. Chok Lit 4:08
15. Force 3:48
16. Herbal Is Natural 4:00

Note: The information about “Isis: The Original Womb-Man” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


A strong and positive female presence on the scene since 1990, Jamaican born and New York-bred Sister Carol is the Queen Latifah of dance-hall reggae. And while she doesn't have her own talk show yet, she's not above moralizing about self-determination ("Opportunity"), feminism ("Womb-Man"), humility ("I-Sis Apella"), AIDS ("HIV"), and the prejudice that Caribbean emigrants often suffer abroad ("Kings and Queens"). The relatively tame dance-hall riddims she chants and (less successfully) sings over seem appropriate for the mellow disposition of this natural woman. Several tracks are collaborations with legendary reggae producer Clement "Coxson" Dodd, two others borrow Bob Marley melodies, and others reach back to the oldies: "Opportunity" poaches its hook from "Hang On Sloopy" while "Chok-Lit" substitutes praise for a particularly strong strain of cannabis for the lyrics to the Fifth Dimension's ("Last Night) I Didn't Get to Sleep." --Richard Gehr