Log In

Roger Wallace, That Kind of Lonely

@ Music Database Search

Roger Wallace, That Kind of Lonely CD cover artwork

Roger Wallace, That Kind of Lonely

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1580108

Disk length: 36m 16s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2001

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Roger Wallace...

“That Kind of Lonely” Tracks & Durations

1. I Ain't Gonna Waste My Time 2:26
2. That Kind Of Lonely 3:44
3. You're Gonna Break My Heart 2:13
4. Good Thing You Love Me 3:00
5. I Never Picked Cotton 2:47
6. Drinking or Crying 2:24
7. From The Time I Get Up 3:40
8. Almost Good Tonight 2:30
9. Square One 3:34
10. Don't Tell Me You're Not Crying 2:44
11. The Last Word In Lonesome Is Me 4:07
12. First Train Heading South 2:58

Note: The information about “That Kind of Lonely” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Roger Wallace is not fond of the country music coming out of Nashville, and he's not particularly shy about telling you that, either. However, the young Texas honky-tonker doesn't just point fingers--he shows you how it should be done. That Kind of Lonely, his sophomore effort, builds on the promise of his debut, Hillbilly Heights, and proves he's a talent to watch. His strongest asset is his expressive voice, the effectiveness of which comes from subtle inflections and clever phrasing, not sheer power or heavy-handed drama. Look no further than his cover of Roger Miller's "The Last Word in Lonesome is Me" for proof. With a crack band behind him (steel player Marty Muse is of special note), Wallace offers a sharp collection of shuffles, waltzes, and rockabilly romps. Though he sprinkles in a few covers, the material is mostly original, and while Wallace's songwriting isn't necessarily his most remarkable talent, his grasp of traditional country subject matter makes it far from a detriment. --Marc Greilsamer