Log In

Patti Austin, In & Out of Love

@ Music Database Search

Patti Austin, In & Out of Love CD cover artwork

Patti Austin, In & Out of Love

Audio CD

Disk ID: 269668

Disk length: 57m 24s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1998

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Patti Austin...

“In & Out of Love” Tracks & Durations

1. In & Out Of Love 3:56
2. Don't Go Away 4:19
3. Totally Unacceptable 5:17
4. Once In A Lifetime 5:19
5. If We're Not In Love 4:58
6. Why you wanna be like that 4:32
7. I'll never get over you 5:10
8. Do-sie-doe-in' 3:57
9. I offer you love 5:22
10. Maybe 4:39
11. Summer breeze 4:13
12. I will be there 5:37

Note: The information about “In & Out of Love” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Patti Austin, though best-known for the quiet-storm duet "Baby Come to Me" with James Ingram, is one of those rare artists capable of working in a multitude of different genres. While this is a testament to her ability as a lyrical interpreter, it sometimes results in uneven albums. In and Out of Love just about avoids that trap, although there are a couple of moments when she seems to be trying too hard to show all that she can do in the course of one record. Case in point: a rock-like cover of Seals & Crofts's "Summer Breeze" that includes a brief rap that seems out of place and out of character for tasteful songstress Austin, who shines best on strong ballads like "I Offer You Love," the magnificently soulful "I Will Be There," and "I'll Never Get Over You." With production by Narada Michael Walden and Louis "Kingpin" Biancaniello, In and Out of Love will certainly satisfy the base of fans Austin has created through the years. There's no obvious out- and-out smash on the record--her first since leaving GRP Records in 1994--but then Austin is the kind of artist who has survived regardless of chart success. --David Nathan