Log In

Nat King Cole, Lush Life

@ Music Database Search

Nat King Cole, Lush Life CD cover artwork

Nat King Cole, Lush Life

Audio CD

Disk ID: 199791

Disk length: 1h 12m 15s (25 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1960

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Nat King Cole...

“Lush Life” Tracks & Durations

1. Lush Life 3:17
2. You Stepped Out Of A Dream 2:36
3. Hey Not Now (I'll Tell You When) 3:03
4. I'll Always Remember You 3:09
5. Where Were You? 2:18
6. Tunnel Of Love 3:08
7. It's Crazy 2:22
8. Funny (Not Much) 2:59
9. That's My Girl 2:22
10. Roses And Wine 3:16
11. It's A Man Every Time 2:56
12. Time Out For Tears 3:12
13. Get To Gettin' 2:21
14. It Was So Good While It Lasted 2:49
15. The Way I'm Loving You 2:44
16. Ev'ry Day 3:01
17. Wish I Were Somebody Else 2:44
18. Home (When Shadows Fall) 3:12
19. You Can't Make Me Love You 2:28
20. Red Sails In The Sunset 3:16
21. Get Out And Get Under The Moon 2:49
22. My Brother 2:51
23. Land Of Love (Come My Love And Live With Me) 3:17
24. Poor Jenny Is A-Weepin' 2:45
25. Summer Is A Comin' In 3:05

Note: The information about “Lush Life” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


This CD includes recordings that Cole made between 1949 and 1952 with arranger Pete Rugolo, a crucial time in Cole's career when he was breaking away from his jazz trio and emphasizing his singing, both on popular ballads and novelty tunes. During the period, Cole formed a close relationship with Rugolo, who was best known for his innovative work with Stan Kenton's orchestra. While never as commercially successful as Cole's collaborations with Nelson Riddle, their work represented a remarkable association between a great singer and a visionary orchestrator, with Rugolo emphasizing surprising contrasts in voicings and rich harmonies. The material ranges from Cole's bantering songs with his wife Maria, like "Hey, Not Now! (I'll Tell You When)" to a sonorous version of Alec Wilder's "Summer Is A Comin' In," and it's all imbued with the unmistakable Cole voice in its prime. The centerpiece, though, is "Lush Life," a superb rendition of Billy Strayhorn's languid hymn to wearied sophistication, with Rugolo adding Latin percussion and impressionistic textures to highlight the presence of Cole's rich baritone. --Stuart Broomer

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Nat King Cole - Lush Life

Tracks: 20 (-5 tracks), Disk length: 1h 1m 59s (-11m 44s)