Log In

Joe Louis Walker, Silvertone Blues

@ Music Database Search

Joe Louis Walker, Silvertone Blues CD cover artwork

Joe Louis Walker, Silvertone Blues

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1598515

Disk length: 50m 5s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1999

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Joe Louis Walker...

“Silvertone Blues” Tracks & Durations

1. Runnin' From The Devil 3:39
2. Kenny's Barrelhouse 3:47
3. Change My Ways 3:45
4. Do The Walkin' 6:15
5. Trouble On Wheels 5:19
6. Letting Go 4:09
7. Talk To Me 3:40
8. Silvertone Blues 4:39
9. Born In Mississippi 3:36
10. Crying Won't Help You 4:44
11. Ir's You Baby 3:59
12. Bad Luck Blues 2:26

Note: The information about “Silvertone Blues” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Silvertone Blues draws from the past for arrangements but is decidedly modern in its musicianship. Walker performs solo piano on "Bad Luck Blues" and solo guitar on "Talk to Me." On the latter, it's easy to hear a full band production but much more exciting to hear it as a man and his guitar. The piano and guitar duets recall classics like Walter Davis, especially "Do the Walkin'" with Kenny Wayne plunking out the barrelhouse; even at six minutes, it stays interesting. Harmonica great James Cotton duets with Walker on three tracks, each spaced through the sequence like a refreshing return to the country. When they slip into "Letting Go" after the full band sound of "Trouble on Wheels," the CD evokes a blues-radio feel. Alvin Youngblood Hart guests on three tracks, weaving intense guitar fabrics with Walker on Robert Nighthawk's "Crying Won't Help You." This album of diverse blues styles proves not only a good introduction to Joe Louis Walker but also to the blues. --Robert Gordon