Log In

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, Stranger Things

@ Music Database Search

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, Stranger Things CD cover artwork

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, Stranger Things

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1252916

Disk length: 56m 41s (13 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2006

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Edie Brickell & New Bohemians...

“Stranger Things” Tracks & Durations

1. Stranger Things 3:20
2. Oh My Soul 2:52
3. Buffalo Ghost 4:36
4. No Dinero 5:30
5. Early Morning 5:00
6. Lover Take Me 4:23
7. A Funny Thing 3:05
8. Mainline Cherry 4:14
9. Long Lost Friend 3:13
10. Wear You Down 4:12
11. One Last Time 4:00
12. Spanish Style Guitar 5:28
13. Elephants and Ants 6:40

Note: The information about “Stranger Things” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Reconvening for a new studio project after a fifteen year hiatus can be a shortcut to a disappointing release (see: Jefferson Airplane, Country Joe & the Fish, Poco, and way too many others). Edie Brickell and New Bohemians may actually be stronger now than they were with their late eighties and early nineties pair of hit albums. Brickell's lyrics mix a sense of serendipity with craftsmanship--in fact, the whole band pull off the difficult task of hiding formidable chops under casually friendly garb. Catchy hooks don't just happen, but the band's ability to roll them out without shining spotlights on them is laudable. The musical figure which opens and defines "Early Morning" shows their prowess at even ballad-paced grooves. Brickell's singing throughout is confident, capable of putting across everything from playfully dynamic playground melodies to dream-infused reveries. --David GreenbergerTrailblazing combo Edie Brickell & New Bohemians have released their first studio recording in nearly 16 years. Stranger Things, a collection of 13 new songs, was produced by the band and Bryce Goggin, and features Brickell; original New Bohemians Brad Houser, Kenny Withrow, Brandon Aly, and John Bush; plus newly recruited keyboardist Carter Albrecht. This new recording represents the honest, unadulterated, and utterly charming sound of a longtime band just being itself, with tracks that include "One Last Time" and "Oh My Soul." Brickell calls this album a "true beginning," the one effort in which she and her original bandmates perform together as a bonafide group. "It's as close to the combo's live sound as a studio recording can get," she says.

More Edie Brickell

Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars


Ghost of a Dog