Log In

Clive Gregson, Happy Hour

@ Music Database Search

Clive Gregson, Happy Hour CD cover artwork

Clive Gregson, Happy Hour

Audio CD

Disk ID: 633051

Disk length: 49m 56s (13 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1999

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Clive Gregson...

“Happy Hour” Tracks & Durations

1. I Get What I Deserve 3:38
2. Fred Astair 4:04
3. Nothing Ever Lasts 5:25
4. Cause for Complaint 3:32
5. Melody 3:28
6. True Beauty 2:53
7. Firefly 4:07
8. Come Home Soon 3:40
9. Salt 3:49
10. I Would Have Walked Away 4:36
11. How Could I Resist? 4:11
12. Until We Meet Again 3:56
13. There Comes a Time 2:29

Note: The information about “Happy Hour” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


The title might be a bit misleading, and Clive Gregson admits it: "It's not happy, and it doesn't last an hour." Enough about what it isn't. What it is is a collection of 13 reflective, often wistful, occasionally melancholic, but invariably beautiful songs. The arrangements are sparse, and Gregson handles all instrumentation and vocals. The acoustic "I Get What I Deserve," with its tone of quiet resignation ("I ask myself, 'How much can one man suffer?' I tell myself, 'I get what I deserve'"), sets the tone for much of what follows. Originally recorded as demos, Gregson's performances have a nice, intimate quality that perfectly suits the material. There is the occasional misstep here. "True Beauty" is unable to avoid its inevitable cliché ("True beauty's not skin deep"). But more often than not, Gregson's imagery is arresting (especially on "Come Home Soon"), personal, and emotionally satisfying. --Percy Keegan