Log In

Brassy, Got It Made

@ Music Database Search

Brassy, Got It Made CD cover artwork

Brassy, Got It Made

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1198213

Disk length: 41m 38s (17 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2000

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Brassy...

“Got It Made” Tracks & Durations

1. In 0:11
2. No Competition 2:20
3. Parkside 3:29
4. Work It Out 2:50
5. That's the Way 3:59
6. Lvs.S 0:58
7. I Can't Wait 2:54
8. You Got It 2:42
9. Who Stole the Show 3:38
10. Play Some D 3:34
11. Nervous 1:50
12. Good Times 2:21
13. Put You Right 3:38
14. Micstyle 0:19
15. I Gotta Beef 2:00
16. B'Cos We Rock 3:23
17. B.R.A.S.S.Y. 1:21

Note: The information about “Got It Made” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Brassy's immediate claim to fame is that they're led by one Muffin Spencer, younger sister of blues-strangling, pants-on-fire rock reverend Jon Spencer. And anyone picking up Got It Made in the hopes of hearing a family resemblance won't be disappointed; with a wink and a snarl, Muffin shoots down inflated egos with the same swaggering, hey-baby-I'm-in-charge strut as the elder Spencer. (They must have played King of the Hill a lot as kids.) And, like her bro, she's fond of shouting her band's name; "No Competition" declares "No-THING can com-PETE with the B-R-A-double-S-Y!" Musically, though, she's running a different show, leading her London-based band through an elastic, sampladelic blend of rock and electronic hip-hop that owes much to Luscious Jackson and the Beastie Boys but distinguishes itself with catchy repetitions and Muffin's call-and-response vocals with her band mates. ("Who stole the show?" "We stole the show!") The CD as a whole is a bit short on actual songs but unrelentingly fun and funky; you'll appreciate Got It Made at your next unstoppable 2 a.m. party or long drive to a hot beach. --Lisa GidleyDebut full length featuring Muffin Spencer (sister of Blues Explosion frontman, Jon Spencer) on vocals and guitars. Digi-pack release with full colour fold-out panel. Melody Maker said of Muffin Spencer, '...Is utterly Magnetic-Lungs of Mercury, presence of Venus'. Limited Edition Digipak. 17 Tracks of Pure Enjoyment and Fun.

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Brassy - Got It Made

Tracks: 20 (+3 tracks), Disk length: 48m 18s (+6m 40s)