Log In

Big Star, #1 Record/Radio City

@ Music Database Search

Big Star, #1 Record/Radio City CD cover artwork

Big Star, #1 Record/Radio City

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1493808

Disk length: 1h 13m 27s (24 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1974

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Big Star...

“#1 Record/Radio City” Tracks & Durations

1. Feel (#1 Record) 3:34
2. The Ballad of El Goodo (#1 Record) 4:21
3. In the Street (#1 Record) 2:55
4. Thirteen (#1 Record) 2:34
5. Don't Lie to Me (#1 Record) 3:07
6. The India Song (#1 Record) 2:20
7. When My Baby's Beside Me (#1 Record) 3:23
8. My Life Is Right (#1 Record) 3:08
9. Give Me Another Chance (#1 Record) 3:26
10. Try Again (#1 Record) 3:31
11. Watch the Sunrise (#1 Record) 3:45
12. ST 100/6 (#1 Record) 1:01
13. O My Soul (Radio City) 5:40
14. Life Is White (Radio City) 3:19
15. Way Out West (Radio City) 2:50
16. What's Going Ahn (Radio City) 2:40
17. You Get What You Deserve (Radio City) 3:08
18. Mod Lang (Radio City) 2:45
19. Back of a Car (Radio City) 2:46
20. Daisy Glaze (Radio City) 3:49
21. She's A Mover (Radio City) 3:12
22. September Gurls (Radio City) 2:49
23. Morphia Too (Radio City) 1:27
24. I'm in Love with a Girl (Radio City) 1:47

Note: The information about “#1 Record/Radio City” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


A two-for-one combo of the first two Big Star albums (they only recorded three). Heard side by side, #1 Record and Radio City only add further testament to Big Star's seminal greatness. On the first album, Chris Bell and Alex Chilton share songwriting credit, though each brings a remarkably different sensibility to the band: Bell creates pure pop nuggets ("Feel") while Chilton swaggers with reckless melancholy ("Ballad of El Goodo," "Thirteen."). After Bell's departure, Chilton took control of the helm for Radio City, and what a ride it is. While not abandoning Bell's penchant for pop, Radio City careens wildly through some of the most exhilarating music ever created, from the rave-up opener, "O My Soul," to the pure pop masterpiece "September Girls" to the whimsical ditty "I'm in Love with a Girl." It's too bad that Big Star didn't create more albums, but thank God they made the ones they did. --Tod Nelson

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Big Star - #1 Record/Radio City

Tracks: 24, Disk length: 1h 13m 27s